Nesting Robin

by Beth | More Than Oregano

Nesting Robin © 2011 Beth Billstrom, 9″ x 12″ Stonehenge Journal, graphite  (Click image to view larger)

While potting plants the other day, I noticed a lone blue robin’s egg laying on the ground beneath our juniper tree just outside the garage.  Unfortunately, the egg was slightly cracked.  There was no chance of the chick surviving.

I scanned the area and found the robin’s nest built precariously on a juniper branch about 3 feet off the ground.  Another lone blue egg lay inside.  Unknowingly, I probably flushed Momma Robin away from her tiny clutch.  Sure enough, when I scanned the area a second time, I found her perched in the maple tree eyeing me suspiciously.  It was a blustery rainy day, and she didn’t look pleased.  She’d already lost one egg.  I’m sure she didn’t want to lose the other one.  I made a hasty dash back into the garage and closed the door.  She soon returned to her roost.

A few days later I caught sight of Momma Robin busily bathing in the bird bath.  I ran outside to check her nest.  She’d been busy!  Three blue eggs greeted me.

Time will tell if the nest will be successful.  Unfortunately, it’s easily visible by humans,  grackles, and house sparrows.  The odds aren’t in her favor, but maybe luck will be on her side.  I’ll be keeping an eye on the nest and reporting what I find to Cornell University’s NestWatch program.

